dodo Bird

I decided to try and draw a dodo bird, but instead of using a pen and paper, I used light painting/light photography.

To begin with, I watched the following video:


Here is what I came up with:

 

Then, I decided to animate my dodo bird, to make him walk – because I don’t think dodo birds could fly? Please correct me if I am wrong.
I used a program called Adobe Photoshop and Adobe ImageReady (which comes with Photoshop):

  1. 3 layers – background, one dodo bird standing flat, and one dodo bird slightly angled
  2. 65 frames
  3. Saved optimised as a .gif file

This website provides you with a basic tutorial of how to animate an image – “Animation in Adobe Photoshop/ImageReady“.

If you have any ideas of what else I could draw using light painting, please let me know! And check out my Light Photography page – here will you see a collection of what I have created so far.

 

Leave a comment