#semicolonEDU

10984240_10152872955687032_9201530188616788883_n

“Not better yet, but finally getting help and making progress. Past few months have been a roller coaster. Big thank you to everyone who got me started in the right direction.”

__________________________________________________________________

I’ve struggled with depression since high school for sure, maybe longer.

I’ve always thought that I could fix myself, that I could hide it, that I could put on a happy face and that I didn’t need help from others. But yet, depression has always been something holding me back.

There were a few times when I was really low. At these times, I was ‘forced’ into counseling or talking with someone. When the mandatory sessions ended, I always stopped going thinking I was fine again, I put that happy face back on and that I was okay.

Someone told me something along the lines of the following: “you have to choose to get help for it to make a difference.” I believe she was right.  This past January, I hit the lowest I’ve probably been. It was effecting me emotionally and physically. It was effecting my relationships, my work, my studies. It was another time when I had lost hope… Thank goodness for a few people who made doctors appointments for me and who came with me. I believe that this time, I did make the choice to go to the doctors, to take the medication and to see the counselors. I’ll stick with the doctors, but I’m still a little weary of counseling..

Since January, I can say that I no longer believe that I can fight this battle on my own. I’m glad that people helped me get back on track. I’ve made progress, but still have a ways to go..

__________________________________________________________________

I’ve finally felt able to share my experience.

This post was inspired by Project Semicolon:

Project Semicolon (The Semicolon Project) is a faith-based non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and love to those who are struggling with depression, suicide, addiction and self-injury. Project Semicolon exists to encourage, love and inspire.

Your story isn’t over yet.

This post I guess, is also in response to The Nerdy Teacher’s post, The Semicolon and The Nerdy Teacher #semicolonEDU #ProjectSemicolon. To see other stories, search #semicolonEDU on Twitter or check out this post, #semicolonEDU Reflections from The Nerdy Teacher.

Leave a Reply

