worth the wait..

“Patience, grasshopper,” said Maia. “Good things come to those who wait.” ― Cassandra Clare, City of Glass

….

Yesterday, I was subbing at one of the schools here in Yorkton for the afternoon. I had been there a few times before and was in the grade 8 classroom. The students worked hard on their individual assignments and made progress towards completing them. The same holds true for their visual arts class. I left notes and remarks for the classroom teacher, briefly talked to the vice-principal and then was on my way home.

A while later, I received a phone call. It was the principal of the school I had been at earlier that day calling. By the tone of his voice, I immediately became nervous.. He started the conversation by saying, “I have a question for you..” My mind went a buzz reflecting on earlier that afternoon. I wondered, had I done something wrong, did I forget to do something, did something happen to one of the students?? My worries were however banished when he said, “Would you be interested in teaching grade 4 for the next few weeks?”

My first thought was, I don’t know. He asked me to call him in the morning with my decision. I had almost talked myself out of this, but then went to see a friend of mine and talked it over with her.

  • This is what I have been waiting for … being in a classroom as the teacher for consecutive days
  • Steady teaching opportunities rather than two, maybe 3 days of subbing each month
  • Being in a classroom everyday with students

I decided on, yes, taking the job. I phoned the principal this morning and am going to meet with him this afternoon to figure everything out.

It turns out, I will be teaching grade 4 for the next four weeks, at least, while the regular classroom teacher is on a leave of absence.

I am excited.. nervous.. my mind is already thinking of possible lessons and ideas… I’m kind of stressing out.. One thing for sure is that I will have to stop working my nighttime part-time job for these next few weeks, after all, I will need to sleep and also lesson plan and mark assignments, etc.

This is what I have been waiting for. This could open doors even further..

 

2 thoughts on “worth the wait..

Leave a Reply

