Imagination

Imagination: the act or power of forming a mental image of something not present to the senses or never before wholly perceived in reality.

a) creative ability
b) the thinking or active mind
c) a creation of the mind

– Definitions from: Merriam-Webster

Imagination

Children see magic because they look for it.

– Christopher Moore

As I look at this picture, I remember how I used to feel when I was a child. I used to be able to spend hours playing games that I would create, imagining different worlds and roles for games I would play. I didn’t need to sit infront of the television to be entertained for hours. I liked playing outside and riding my bicycle, encountering new adventures where ever I went.

I look more at the top part of this picture and I am also reminded how things started to change. My imaginary world wasn’t always seen by me anymore, it was seen to parents and others as a mess that needed to be cleaning.

Looking back to my experiences in teaching in schools and realize that sometimes, I did not foster my students imagination, even though they were in the older grades / middle years. It is wonderful to have an imagination and such creativity. When I see children playing or watch my friends’ children and interact with them, I am often in awe by what they can tell me. They take me along in their adventure and we explore amazing places through simply playing and allowing them to create where we will go and the events that happen.

I hope that parents today are fostering imagination and creativity in their children. It is easy to spend the day watching tv, playing on computers and with the latest technologies. Don’t get me wrong, I think technology allows children and students to do wonderful things, but sometimes, they need to put it down and explore other things, other toys, and their imagination. I do also believe that technology can foster imagination. Let your students explore their imagination when writing and telling stories, let them be creative in art projects, math problems and social maps. Let them plan adventures and let them explore. In kindergarten, I’d hope that these students haven’t lost their imagination yet, and that but grade eight and even high school that it is still there.

I miss my imagination and all the fun times I had playing and exploring. I hope that other students and children don’t miss out on the fun they can create and the stories they can tell.

I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination. Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.”

– Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

