A New Start

Since graduating this past June with a Bachelor of Education Degree from the University of Regina, I was eager to begin my teaching career in a classroom of my own. I had ideas, lessons, goals, dreams and many activities that I was eager to try with my students. However, things don’t always go how we invision them. I sent out resumes, applied for positions and even had interviews. While I was hoping for that classroom of my own, I am okay with where I am at now. Right now, I am a substitute teacher with one of the two school divisions in Yorkton, Saskatchewan – and I am happy to be here.

Don’t get me wrong, I was a little disappointed that I had not gone straight into my own classroom as I have seen classmates of mine do, but I know that with time, it will happen for me as well. I have just finished my formal schooling (for now anyways) and felt pressure to keep the ball rolling, with landing a job being the next big step. However, as I spent time reflecting and talking with others, I see that I still need to grow and learn before I feel that I will be ready to be a good teacher for my students in a classroom where I am the teacher. This past semester and summer I have seen myself grow. Am I finished growing and reflecting? No. Will I ever be finished? I don’t think so. However, I do think that I am getting closer to being where I feel like I can be in my own classroom. So for now, I am substitute teaching. It has been a great experience and I have learned a lot so far.  I continue to look forward to meeting and interacting with many students, teachers, schools, and classrooms and to my talents with them and to also learn at the same time.

All that I do know for sure is that Yorkton is the place for me to be in right now. It called me back here in many ways and through many people. I feel comfortable here. I have friends and fellow teachers here that I can turn to and lean on for support. Most importantly, I feel that I have a community here where I fit in and belong.

So for now … I am here … I am happy …. and I am in the right place.

Who knows where or to what subbing in Yorkton will lead to? Only time will tell … but I know that I am ready for the journey!

Leave a Reply

