Auckland – Take 2

Saturday morning, we got up and hopped into a car and headed to Auckland. The drive from Hamilton to Auckland was beautiful. I really am in awe of how green the fields are down here – they are simply beautiful. The rain that they have down here helps with that – I think back to Canada and wish the grass and fields on the prairies were this lush and green. The hillsides were beautiful as well, and while I was told that there are a lot of sheep here in New Zealand, I have to say that I have seen more cows than I have sheep!

   

Once arriving in Auckland, we drove past the University and headed to the art gallery. Here we were dropped off for the day and we headed out to explore the city. I wondered all around downtown Auckland and checked out many stores. I did not make any purchases however because nothing caught my eye.

After this, I headed back to the art gallery  and then we went inside. The gallery has a beautiful collection of work with pieces from different exhibitions which included some of the following: Toi Aotearoa, Whizz Bang Pop, Choi Jeong Hwa – Flower Chandeller and Home AKL. It was wonderful to see the artwork and to see a range from Mauri work to modern day art as well.

   

In the Home AKL exhibition, there was work featured from local artists and Pacific artists. I found this art collection really made me reflect and think about where I come from and the things I have and have access to, as well as identity, racism, white-privilege and the perspectives of others.

   

All in all, it was a great trip to Auckland and so far, I am really enjoying my time here and the people I have met.

 

Leave a Reply

