Informal Lesson Plan .. .

Today for ERDG425, we began our one-on-one tutoring sessions with out students from Ranch Ehrlo. We were asked to look at the Saskatchewan Curriculum and to choose an outcome and indicator to work through. The subjects we could choose from were Social, Science or Math. The student I am working with is very knowledgable about maps. He is able to look at a map and identify cities and different areas. We went onto Google Maps and looked at Saskatchewan and he located the reserve he is from and was able to explain the area and places he’s been. He also drew me detailed maps about his home area and explained me locations and where people live, sharing part of his life with me. So we are working within the grade 8 Social Studies curriculum. We are looking at outcome DR. 8.1 – Develop an understanding of the significance of land on the evolution of Canadian identity.  and will be focusing on the following indicators c and d. c. Illustrate on a map various designated lands in Canada (e.g., lands set aside such as reserve lands, settlement lands, heritage sites, homesteads, wildlife   refuges, parks, crown land and trans-boundary areas) and explain such designations. d. Investigate the importance of the land in the Canadian economy (e.g., agriculture, trapping, hydroelectricity, fishing, mining, forestry, tourism), and speculate about the impact on the identity of Canadians. Any ways, today I created an informal lesson plan on what we were going to begin to look at. I had some ideas of starting with a KWL chart to see what he already knows about Saskatchewan and what he wants to learn. Then, we were going to go brainstorm and create graphic organizers about some of the specific topics: Saskatchewan land features, maps, types of land and uses of land. I had some books and a map to look at after that we would read. There were questions to answer, key terms to note and add to our organizers so that I could see where he was at in terms of knowledge.

This morning, when my student arrived at the University, we started talking and he found the map I had brought and he asked if we could look at it. We went into the hallway and opened up the map. He started looking at the map and telling me places he had been to and marking them off. We grabbed markers and highlighted the places we had both been to. I sat back and watched him locate the places he had been to, reading the map and the names of the places. We spent the next 40 minutes looking at the map, reading through all of the names of places in Saskatchewan (it`s a long list). We talked about the legend and features of a map, and drew on a compass and the directions North, East, South and West. We totally did not follow the plan I had laid out for today. Instead, the student was connecting to what he was reading and while it may not have been books, he was still reading and engaging in literacy and it was meaningful with him. He was able to share his knowledge with me, my professor and other students who seemed interested our map and the places he has visited. I ended up learning to from my student and watching him be passionate about his funds of knowledge. The informal plan that I had was great – it provided me with a list of areas to look at and guided me to make sure that I was on the right track regarding the curriculum, but today we were still on track, I just let my student take the lead. Now I have plans for my next lesson, but who knows if we will follow those. . …

One thought on “Informal Lesson Plan .. .

Leave a Reply

